Is there any type of statute of limitations for individuals claiming sexual harassment? Report was made approximately 7 months after the incident occurred (inappropriate verbal comment) but was never mentioned to HR or management.
Ann Kiernan replies:
Under federal law, harassment charges must be filed with the EEOC within 180 days, but it is extended to 300 days if the state has its own fair employment practices agency that has signed a work-sharing agreement with the EEOC. Most states do have such agreements. Under state laws, the time to file charges ranges from one year (California and others) to six years (Ohio).
But even if the time for legal action has expired, an employer should still make a prompt and thorough investigation of all harassment complaints, and take appropriate remedial action when warranted.
Information here is correct at the time it is posted. Case decisions cited here may be reversed. Please do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney first.